Guides

OSHA Recordkeeping Software Prices Compared (2026): What Eight Tools Cost and What Each One Files

OSHA 300 log software runs from free to 'starting at $5k per year,' and the cheap tools differ in what they actually file. Here are the published prices, read from each vendor's own site on September 27, 2026, next to what each says it does for the 300, 300A, 301, and the ITA — and who decides whether a case is recordable.

LS
LogStead Team
OSHA Recordkeeping
10 min read

When we asked ChatGPT and Perplexity in September 2026 which OSHA recordkeeping software a 60-person company should use, both answered with a shortlist and prices: $49 a year, $99 a year, "starts at $5,000." The numbers came from somewhere, and when we checked them against the vendors' own pages, several were incomplete. One tool has two more pricing options than the answer mentioned. Another's "per user" price is per member, and the page shows a different figure when you flip its billing toggle.

So we read every vendor's pricing and product pages on September 27, 2026 and wrote down what each one actually says: what it costs, which OSHA forms it produces, what it does about the Injury Tracking Application (ITA), whether it helps you import the log you already keep, and — the question that matters most for a legal record — who decides whether a case is recordable.

One disclosure up front: LogStead is one of the eight products below. We have tried to describe the others in their own words. Every competitor price and feature on this page is quoted or closely paraphrased from that vendor's own site and linked, and we say plainly where a cheaper tool is enough or where another product does something we don't.

How to read this page

Prices and features are as each vendor published them on September 27, 2026. Vendors change pricing, so check the linked page before you buy. "Not stated" means we could not find it on the vendor's public pages — not that the product lacks it. And OSHA rates none of these: in an April 29, 2025 interpretation letter, the agency wrote that it "does not approve, endorse, recommend or certify any product or process."

Published Prices at a Glance

ToolPublished price (September 27, 2026)Free option
OSHA300.comStarter $49/yr · Business $149/yr (up to 10 establishments) · Enterprise $249/yrFree Edition, for a single establishment with zero injuries and zero illnesses
HB NEXT OSHA 300 Cloud$99.00 per year, per establishmentNone listed
OSHA SentinelProfessional $79/mo · Business $199/mo · annual billing "~17% off"Free plan: 1 establishment, 5 cases a year, 300A only, 1 user
SafesitePremium $16 per member per month (the page's annual/monthly toggle also shows $20)Free plan (reporting limited to the last 30 days); 30-day Premium trial
EHS Insight"Starting at $5k per year" for its small and medium business tierTwo-week free trial
iReportSourceNot published: "custom quotes provided after a discovery call"None listed
Vector EHS ManagementNot published ("Request a Demo")None listed
LogSteadStarter $39/mo or $390/yr · Professional $79/mo or $790/yr · Business $149/mo or $1,490/yr14-day free trial

Three pricing models are hiding in that table. OSHA300.com and HB NEXT charge a flat yearly fee — HB NEXT per establishment. OSHA Sentinel, Safesite, and LogStead sell subscriptions priced by the month, with annual options — Safesite per member. EHS Insight, iReportSource, and Vector quote each customer: EHS Insight publishes a starting price and says the quote depends on headcount and the modules you choose, iReportSource says it depends on organization size and program scope, and Vector publishes no price. OSHA Sentinel also advertises a founding-customer offer on its page — "$49/mo Professional or $129/mo Business — for life" for its first ten paid customers.

What Each Tool Says It Does

Tool300, 300A, 301ITA electronic submissionWho decides recordabilityImporting your existing log
OSHA300.com"create, store, and file your OSHA 300, 300a and 301 logs"Files your 300A ("Automatic Filing of OSHA 300A"); 300/301 case data not statedNot statedNot stated
HB NEXT OSHA 300 Cloud300 Log and 300A "generated automatically"; "Create 301's from any device"300A "either by CSV or Direct via API"; 300/301 case data not statedNot stated on the OSHA 300 Cloud pageNot stated (uploads are incident attachments such as photos and statements)
OSHA Sentinel300, 300A, 301 on paid plans (free plan: 300A only)"submit Forms 300A, 300, and 301 directly"An AI model: "Our AI classifies it per 29 CFR 1904.7 criteria"Not stated on its public page
SafesiteA 300 log you download as an Excel (.xls) file; 300A and 301 not statedNot statedYou add a case to the log with a toggleHelp digitizing existing forms and documents
EHS Insight300, 300A, 301 "built in""supports electronic submission to the OSHA Injury Tracking Application"; method not statedPages say "classify it correctly"; its FAQ lists "automated incident classification" among its AI featuresHistorical data loaded with their help during implementation
iReportSource300, 300A, 301 generated "in real time" from incidents reported in its appNot statedNot statedNot stated
Vector EHS Management300, 300A, 301 "in just a few clicks""export data to CSV files"; "you review the totals and file them with OSHA""Instantly determine if an incident is recordable or reportable"Not stated
LogStead300, 300A, 301 from one incident recordGenerates the 300A file and, where required, the 300/301 case-data file; you upload them (no direct submission)A rule-based wizard that shows the regulation behind each answer; no AICSV or Excel; or a photo, scan, or PDF read by an AI model and checked by you row by row

Two columns in that table do most of the work when you choose, so they get their own sections.

Which ITA Filing Do You Owe? It Changes Which Tool Is Enough

The ITA obligation comes from 29 CFR 1904.41, and it has two tiers. If your establishment "had 20–249 employees at any time during the previous calendar year" and is in an industry listed in appendix A to subpart E, or had 250 or more employees, you submit information from your 300A summary each year. If your establishment "had 100 or more employees at any time during the previous calendar year" and is in an industry listed in appendix B, you "must electronically submit information from OSHA Forms 300 and 301" too — every case, not just the totals. Both are due by March 2 of the year after the one the forms cover.

That second tier is where the inexpensive end of the market differs. OSHA300.com's and HB NEXT's pages describe filing the 300A and say nothing about 300 and 301 case data. OSHA Sentinel says it submits all three forms. Vector exports CSV files for you to file. LogStead generates both upload files — the 300A summary and the case-data file in OSHA's published format — and you upload them to the ITA yourself. If your establishment is under 100 employees, or your industry isn't on appendix B, the 300A is the whole filing, and any tool that produces or files it covers you.

Not sure which tier you're in? The free ITA filing checker answers it from your NAICS code and peak headcount, and our step-by-step ITA walkthrough covers the upload itself.

Who Decides Whether a Case Is Recordable

This is the column that varies most, and it is the one you will eventually have to explain. When a case is questioned — by an employee, an insurer, or an inspector — "the software said so" is not an answer. The reason is. The vendors' pages describe three different approaches:

  • You decide, and the tool records it. Safesite adds a case to its 300 log when you switch on the toggle that adds it to the injury log. OSHA300.com's and HB NEXT's OSHA 300 Cloud pages don't describe a recordability determination.
  • Rules decide. Vector says its software can "instantly determine if an incident is recordable or reportable." LogStead's recordability wizard walks the Part 1904 questions in order — work-relatedness, new case, the general recording criteria — and saves the result with its reasoning and the CFR section it rests on.
  • An AI model decides. OSHA Sentinel's page says: "Describe the incident in plain English. Our AI classifies it per 29 CFR 1904.7 criteria — determining recordability, work-relatedness, and case classification so you don't have to interpret the regulation yourself." EHS Insight's FAQ lists "automated incident classification" among the differentiators of its AI-powered platform.

An AI classifier can be quick, and it may well be right most of the time. Whichever approach a vendor uses, the question to ask is the same: for a close call, what would you show an inspector? The rule and the facts that met it, or a model's output? Our longer checklist for recordkeeping software turns that into questions you can put to any vendor.

LogStead's answer is the rule. It uses an AI model in exactly one place: reading a photo or scan of a paper log you have already filled in. That model transcribes what is written; it does not classify anything, and nothing is saved until you check each row against your page.

The recordability decision stays yours

No tool changes whose name is on the log. A good tool makes each determination reproducible and leaves the reasoning behind it where you can find it again; it cannot take the responsibility off your desk.

What It Costs a 60-Person, Single-Site Company

For one establishment with a typical year's cases, here is what the published prices work out to:

  • Forms plus a 300A filing, and nothing else: OSHA300.com Starter at $49 a year, or HB NEXT OSHA 300 Cloud at $99 a year.
  • OSHA Sentinel: the free plan covers the 300A only, for up to 5 cases a year. Professional is $79 a month and adds the 300 and 301.
  • Safesite Premium: $16 per member per month, so three members come to $48 a month.
  • LogStead Starter: $39 a month or $390 a year, for one establishment, up to 100 incidents a year, and three team members. Professional ($79 a month or $790 a year) adds up to five establishments, unlimited incidents, ten team members, and the audit trail.
  • EHS Insight starts at $5k a year; iReportSource and Vector quote by organization.

When the $49 Tool Is the Right Answer

If you run one site, record a few cases a year, are comfortable making the recordability call yourself, and aren't in the 100-plus, appendix B case-data group, a $49 to $99 a year form tool that files your 300A is a reasonable buy. So is a well-built spreadsheet — we wrote about where a free 300 log template works and where it breaks.

LogStead costs more than those tools. What the difference buys:

  • a recordability wizard that asks the Part 1904 questions in order and saves each result with its reasoning and CFR section;
  • both ITA upload files, including the 300/301 case data required of 100-plus establishments in appendix B industries;
  • privacy-concern cases handled on the 300 (the name is withheld and the case prints as "Privacy Case");
  • an import for the log you already have — CSV, Excel, or a photo or scan of a paper page;
  • deadline reminders, and an audit trail on the Professional and Business plans.

If none of that matters for your site, buy the cheaper tool.

What LogStead Doesn't Do

It does not submit to the ITA for you: it generates the files, and you upload them in the ITA yourself. It is not an EHS suite either. There are no inspections, training records, or chemical management, and if you need those, the platforms in our map of EHS software alternatives are the better fit. And the scan reader reads pages; it will not make a recordability call for you.

How We Gathered This

We read each vendor's own pricing and product pages on September 27, 2026 and checked every quoted figure against the page's source. We used no review sites or reseller listings for prices, and where a vendor publishes no price, we say so rather than estimate one. One vendor page has moved: iReportSource's former pricing page (/pricing) now returns "page not found," and its prices are by quote. If you represent one of these vendors and something here is wrong or out of date, email support@logstead.app and we will correct it.

If you are moving from paper or a spreadsheet, the LogStead import reads the log you already keep — a CSV, an Excel workbook, or a photo or scan of the page — and runs every case through the same checks as manual entry. Nothing is saved until you review the rows and import them, and a row read from a scan must first be ticked as matching your page. It is included in the 14-day free trial.

Ready to simplify compliance?

LogStead determines recordability, generates your 300, 300A, and 301 forms, and keeps your records accurate and audit-ready. Try it free for 14 days.

Get Started for Free